hindi alphabet –  hindi alphabet chart

hindi alphabet

Hindi is an Indo-Aryan language spoken mainly in India, with over 500 million speakers worldwide. It is written in the Devanagari script, which is an abugida (a writing system that represents consonant-vowel combinations) and has 11 vowels and 33 consonants.

The Devanagari script is also used to write other languages like Sanskrit, Marathi, and Nepali. The Hindi alphabet is essential to learning the language and is an important part of the Indian cultural heritage.

Understanding the Hindi alphabet is the foundation for reading, writing, and speaking the language. With its rich history and cultural significance, learning the Hindi alphabet is an exciting journey into the world of Indian language and culture.

 hindi alphabet chart

hindi alphabet

Independent Vowels:

In Hindi, independent vowels, also known as Swar, are the fundamental building blocks of the language’s sound system. These vowels are pronounced without any consonantal sound accompanying them, and they can be combined with consonants to form syllables and words. There are 11 independent vowels in Hindi, each with its unique sound and symbol.

Properly understanding and pronouncing these vowels is essential for anyone learning the Hindi language, as they play a crucial role in determining the meaning and sound of words. In this context, learning about the independent vowels in Hindi is an important starting point for mastering the language.

अ [a]आ [aa]इ [e]ई [i]
उ [u]
ऊ [oo]ए [a]ऐ [ae]
ओ [o]औ [ao]अं [am]अः [a:]
ऋ [ri]ॠ [rr]

Dependent Vowels:

Hindi is an Indo-Aryan language with a rich history and a complex writing system that includes a combination of consonants and vowels. One of the unique features of Hindi script is the presence of dependent vowels, which are symbols that are attached to consonants to form complete syllables.

Dependent vowels, also known as matra, are an essential aspect of the Hindi language, and they play a crucial role in determining the meaning and pronunciation of words. Hindi is spoken by over 500 million people worldwide and is the official language of India, making it a vital language to learn for communication and cultural exchange.

Understanding dependent vowels in Hindi is, therefore, an important step towards mastering the language and becoming proficient in Hindi communication.

letters in hindi alphabet

ा [aa]ि [i]ी [ii]ु [u]
ू [uu]
ृ [r]ॄ [rr]ॅ [e]
ॆ [e]े [e]ै [ai]ॉ [o]
ॊ [o]ो [o]ौ [au]

Hindi Consonants –

Hindi consonants can be classified into two categories, i.e., the voiced and unvoiced consonants. The voiced consonants are pronounced with a vibration in the vocal cords, while the unvoiced consonants are pronounced without any vibration.

Each Hindi consonant has a unique sound, and when combined with other consonants or vowels, they form a distinct syllable. The correct pronunciation of Hindi consonants is crucial for effective communication in the language.

Learning about Hindi consonants is an essential step towards mastering the language. With consistent practice and effort, one can become proficient in using these consonants in their spoken and written communication in Hindi.

hindi alphabet with english

क [k]ख [kha]ग [g]
घ [gha]ङ [nga]च [ca]
छ [chha]ज [ja]झ [jha]
ञ [nya]ट [ta]ठ [thh]
ड[da]ढ [dh]ण [n]
त [t]थ [tha]द [d]
ध [dha]न [na]प [p]
फ [fa]ब [b]भ [bha]
म [ma]य [y]र [r]
ल [la]व [v]श [sha]
ष [shha]स [sa]ह [ha]
क्ष [ksh]त्र [tra]ज्ञ [gya]

how many letters in hindi alphabet

The Hindi language uses the Devanagari script, which consists of 46 letters. These letters are known as “akshar” in Hindi. The Devanagari script is used to write several Indian languages, including Hindi, Sanskrit, and Marathi. The Hindi alphabet includes 11 vowels and 35 consonants.

हिन्दी बाराखड़ी – hindi barakhadi 

Rate this post
[Total: 1 Average: 1]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!